Anahata: Bringing Balance to the Fourth Chakra

As we have been moving on with bringing our chakras back into balance we have re-discovered the magic that these different wheels of energy can provide us once we consciously decide to begin paying attention to their inherent wisdom. We have learned from the first root chakra to declare our right to have, from the second sacral chakra to affirm our right to feel; and the navel chakra has reminded us about our right to ask. Now, the succeeding Anahata chakra comes to encourage us to assert our right to love; as we open ourselves to allow one of the universe’s greater forces into our lives.

Anahata can be found right in the center of the heart, therefore encompassing the heart, cardiac plexus, breasts, lungs, and thymus gland; forming the midpoint of all seven chakras. Its Sanskrit word stands for “unhurt,” “unbeaten,” or “unstruck,” calling for the existence of a place full of unrestricted purity and grace underneath all the noise of hardship and sorrow.

When this disk of energy is in balance we feel unconditional compassion, acceptance, and forgiveness towards ourselves and others; perceiving love not exactly as an emotion that comes and goes revolving the person or people who seem to be deserving of it, but rather as a vibe that tunes in with every being, circumstance, or thing that surrounds us. When this chakra is out of balance however, we tend to feel anger, fear of others, jealousy, and at times even hatred.

Some of the expressions of a misaligned Anahata chakra may be high blood pressure, circulatory problems, or heart diseases in the physical plane and co-dependency, possessiveness, jealousy, the need for manipulating or constant negative thinking in the mind and emotional planes.

Five asanas or yoga postures that can aid you with opening this fourth chakra are:

Gomukhasana or Cow Face pose

Ustrasana or Camel pose

Garudasana or Eagle pose

Dandayamana Dhanurasana or Standing Bow Pulling pose

Dhanurasana or Bow pose

Using the mantra of compassion, Om Mani Padme Hum, while meditating, can be of help for expanding love and compassion to both ourselves as well as to other sentient beings; while we learn to finally see that love is not something external to us, but rather a permanent jewel within our own that cannot be taken away (ever) by anything or anyone. It will be until we realize this wisdom that we will finally be able to give our entire and purest love to us and others.

Other tools that you may want to consider for when working towards aligning the love chakra is its corresponding sound “Yum,” its color green; gemstones such as emerald, rose quartz, malachite, and jade that you can place on the chakra’s region while lying down, also using essential oils like jasmine, cypress, tangerine and bergamot, and eating leafy and airy vegetables, green herbs, and spices or foods that benefit the heart and circulation.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *